Irving residents re-elected incumbents Mayor Rick Stopfer and Councilman J. Oscar Ward, District 5, during the election held Nov. 3. A runoff election in single-member District 3 between Mark Zeske and Abdul Khabeer will be held Dec. 8.

Irving operates under a council-manager form of government where the council sets city policy and the city manager is responsible for organizational operations. Residents elect a mayor and eight council members to serve the city. All council members are elected for three-year terms. Elected officials are under a mixed system of single-member districts and at-large seats.

Following is a list of the City Council, pending the runoff election (date to be announced):

Mayor − Rick Stopfer (at-large)
District 1 − John C. Danish
District 2 − Allan E. Meagher (at-large)
District 3 − Runoff election Dec. 8
District 4 − Phil Riddle
District 5 − Oscar Ward
District 6 − Al Zapanta
District 7 − Kyle Taylor
District 8 − Wm. David Palmer (at-large)

Council meetings are held at least once a month on Thursdays, beginning at 7 p.m. Meeting dates are posted at CityofIrving.org. For more information, call the City Secretary’s Office at (972) 721-2493.


member of the week IHT

Featured Investor

ExxonMobil, one of the largest publicly traded international energy companies, uses technology and innovation to help meet the world’s growing energy needs.

Learn More >>

icc 2018 video screenshot

Welcome Home to Irving, Texas

Watch The Video >>

Irving-Las Colinas Chamber of Commerce
5201 N. O'Connor Boulevard
Suite 100
Irving, TX 75039

214.217.8484 phone
214.389.2513 fax

Facebook circle white transparent Twitter circle white transparentLinkedIn circle white transparentInstagram circle white transparent

© Irving-Las Colinas Chamber of Commerce
All Rights Reserved. All Logos and Brands used under
license from their respective owners

logo accreditedlogo hiring heroesCOY Finalist wh

Telly Award Bronze 2019 40thCommunications Grand Award white
TTagLR Gen OrigOnWht